We Bought a House!

I promised I had two nuggets of good news, and today I finally have a chance to share the second one.  If you’ve found me on Instagram you might already now this one (and I suppose the title of this post also gave it away) but we bought a house!  Our offer was accepted over Spring Break, which made it the second good thing to happen that week, and we closed on May 5th.  Wow.  I can’t believe it’s already been two months since I’ve become a home owner! Eeek!

Let’s get to the house details shall we?

The house was built in 1978, has three bedrooms and two bathrooms, all in just over 1000 square feet.  It has a two car garage, a fenced back yard, and sits in a nice little neighborhood with friendly neighbors.  It is nearly 100% perfect, but has the one major drawback of being right next to the highway. Wah-wah.  Even though the noise is pretty negligible inside the house, we certainly won’t be hosting the most relaxing backyard barbeques.

Despite the noise, I am so excited to make this house our home for the next (at least) 4 years.  I think the fact that I won’t have to move again in that time frame is cause enough to celebrate haha!  And of course I have 10 million ideas for DIY projects and renovations.  The house was owned by an elderly couple and was a rental for several years, so nothing in it is super fancy.  There were also a couple cheaply done “updates” that we get to deal with also.  The most notable are the poorly laid cheap laminate flooring and the poorly installed cheap laminate cabinets in the kitchen.  The generic beige carpet in the bedrooms have seen better days as well (I’m looking at you, mysterious pink stain in the guest bedroom).  So, this blog is about to get a lot more home decor/renovation-y from now on, which I am SO EXCITED about because this is exactly the kind of stuff I wanted to write about when I started this blog.

We did get a few things done before moving in, most notably having our popcorn ceilings scraped.  I feel like I didn’t get a very good start on the whole DIY blogger thing by hiring this out, but Scott was wiling to front the cost to get it over with, and I do still need to skim coat over the freshly revealed drywall.  Our contractor had supposedly never heard of somebody wanting smooth ceilings and our cost was going to double to have him do an “orange peel” texture that is nearly as bad as popcorn, and he couldn’t even give us an estimate on doing a smooth texture because it would just be “so much work”.  So I do still get to start bulking up my DIY muscles, just as soon as I finish with a little kitchen update.  But that’s a story for another time….

– Steph

I love hearing from you! Let me know what you thought of this post, and I will happily answer any questions you have

