What I’m Knitting: Cabled Pillows

I love curling up on the couch in the winter, watching some Netflix (ok, a lot of Netflix) and doing a bit of knitting.  I haven’t had a lot of time for it this winter, but a knitting blog binge over the holiday break got me back in the mood.  I’ve recently been coveting a pair of knitted pillows for our couch because I love the cozy look they give to a livingroom. Just look at how good they look in these spaces!

I love the colors of the pillows on this couch.  Plus, how cute is that penguin pillow!?

I like the idea of a knit body pillow.  It sounds extra cuddly!  This picture also makes me want to make a pallet couch.

After seeing this I want to make some extra large pillows, along with some flat poofs.

Our couch does have a pair of pillows already, though I have some issues with them.  Scott’s lovely mother made them out of some of his old Wisconsin t-shirts, and as much as I love a good clothing recycle, my Gopher pride makes them a bit tough to look at every day.  I’m planning on recovering them with a cable knit, maybe with a zipper or a button on them so I can take the cover off again if we ever want to.  These are my inspiration patterns:

Since I don’t have any extra thick yarn in my stash I decided to get the chunky vibe with cables. I love cable knitting because it is so gratifying to see the pattern take shape after a couple rows.  But I forgot how much more time and concentration these patterns require!  So maybe I’ll have these pillows done by July?

What have you been knitting lately?

– Steph

2 thoughts on “What I’m Knitting: Cabled Pillows

  1. These look gorgeous! I am jealous! Post pictures when you finish them! I might try them when I see the results. I am still working on baby blankets for my friends though that takes so long they might be adults before they get them! LOL!

    • Haha I know what you mean! I’ve only got about 1/4 of the first one done… But I’ll be done with finals this week so hopefully I’ll have a little more time to work on them then. Except now the weather is getting nice so I’m not nearly as inclined to curl up and knit when I could go outside for a walk!

I love hearing from you! Let me know what you thought of this post, and I will happily answer any questions you have

