The Sculpture Garden

The Sculpture Garden

Wow this summer has gone by so quickly!  In less than a week I’ll be rolling on out to Oregon, and I can’t wait!  The past few weeks have been full of packing, planning, and organizing so I’ve been a little quiet on the blog front.  But now that I’ve got everything straightened out, I have some time to showcase the places I visited to get my fill of Minneapolis before the move.

The Sculpture Garden at the Walker Art Center is home to one of the most iconic pieces in Minneapolis: The Spoon and Cherry.  I hadn’t gotten a chance to visit the garden until this summer, and I’m so glad I finally got to see it!  I woke up early and took a nice hour long walk through downtown to the west side of the city.  Even though the park is right next to I-94, I didn’t even notice the noise once I was surrounded by the trees and unique art pieces.  I will admit, I didn’t really “get” most of the sculptures, but I also don’t study art!  It was fun to see the funkier pieces even if they seemed a bit strange to me.

The Sculpture Garden

Who doesn’t love a bunny?

Geese swimming in the cherry pond

Geese swimming in the cherry pond

The Sculpture Garden

I always love seeing busy bees!

I always love seeing busy bees!

Random objects and symbols swirling through a votrex

Random objects and symbols swirling through a votrex

A branch horse

A branch horse

My favorite part might have been the conservatory building that was plump full of succulents!  I have a bit of an obsession with succulents and have been slowly growing my collection.  I love being able to see new ones I might want to add!

I love the look of plant covered arches

I love the look of plant covered arches

This bright groundcover is so fun!

This bright ground cover is so fun!

I love the blush color on the edges of the leaves

I love the blush color on the edges of the leaves

I didn’t get a chance to walk through the art center because I started to get hungry, but even just a visit to the garden was a great way to spend the morning.  I’ll take any chance to get outside in the warm summer weather!

Two of my friends and I actually visited the Walker Art Center a few weeks later for the 3rd annual Internet Cat Video Festival.  Unfortunately, by the time we got there the grounds were completely packed with people and we couldn’t find any place to sit where we could see the screen.  I can’t believe how many people came out to watch videos of cats!  It was insanity!  So instead we bused back to Northeast Minneapolis for a couple of beers at New Bohemia.  It still turned out to be a fun night, even if we couldn’t stay for all the cat themed fun.

Have you gotten a chance to see The Spoon and Cherry?  Have you been to the cat video festival?  We heard people got there at noon to save seats!  People sure love their cats.

– Steph

I love hearing from you! Let me know what you thought of this post, and I will happily answer any questions you have

