Snow Shoeing at the Minnesota Arboretum

I found a new outdoor activity that doesn’t require a mountainous landscape!  While I love to snowboard, Minnesota’s lack of real mountains makes it a tough hobby to practice.  So on a snowy day in February my boyfriend and I took a trip to the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum to rent snowshoes.

Just sitting on a snowy bench

Just sitting on a snowy bench

Hey look I'm a heron

Hey look I’m a heron

We had a blast walking around like ducks and getting lost trying to find the trails.  They were clearly marked, we just went the wrong direction coming out of the visitor’s center and got a little confused…  But it was lucky we did because we spotted my favorite animal: an owl!

Doesn't the owl look like a little snowy man?

Doesn’t the owl look like a little snowy man?

The softly falling snow made for a beautiful landscape.  We traipsed along through the woods for a little over an hour and a half before going back inside for some hot chocolate.

Snowflakes that stay on my eyelashes

Snowflakes that stay on my (nose and) eyelashes

Traipsing through the snow

Traipsing through the snow

The Arboretum had an orchid display in January and they were selling some of the plants!  Obviously I bought one.  Isn’t she just gorgeous?

Meet Daenerys!

Meet Daenerys!

If you haven’t tried snow shoeing, I highly recommend!  It was a great way to get active during the time of year when most of us curl up by the fire and eat too many leftover Christmas cookies.  You can still do that!  Just go snow shoeing first :)

What kind of outdoor fun do you have in the winter?

– Steph

I love hearing from you! Let me know what you thought of this post, and I will happily answer any questions you have

